In Pursuit of Social Justice


As an interdisciplinary community of scholars, practitioners, advocates, and students interested in the application of critical, scientific, and humanistic perspectives to the study of vital social problems, the SSSP is engaged in multiple avenues of social justice research and action. In addition to SSSP publications, the Society regularly participates in calls to action on various social justice issues. Each year, the SSSP also presents the Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award, which recognizes social justice work of grassroots organizations in marginalized communities in the city/local area hosting the annual meeting. See below for more information on these activities.

At the 2018 Annual Meeting, one of our sessions, CRITICAL DIALOGUE: Presidential Perspectives of Current Issues in our Field, featured the Presidents of several scholarly organizations.  The panelists discussed the current state of affairs in academia, including issues of race, class, and gender.  People in order:

Luis A. Fernandez – President of the Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP)
Marcus Anthony Hunter – President of the Association of Black Sociologists (ABS)
Eduardo Bonilla-Silva – President of the American Sociological Association (ASA)
Adia Harvey Wingfield – President of the Sociologists for Women in Society (SWS)
Nazli Kibria – President of the Eastern Sociological Society (ESS)
Mary Romero – President-Elect of the American Sociological Association (ASA)
David G. Embrick – Vice-President of the Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP) and Presider of the session

SSSP Resolutions

2017 Approved Resolutions

Resolutions were solicited via several calls sent out to the membership by the SSSP Administrative Office as well as by emails sent to the Chairs of the 22 Divisions by the SSSP Vice President, Valerie Leiter.  This year, four proposed resolutions were submitted, including the expression of gratitude.

The resolutions were provided both online prior to the meeting and in hardcopy format at the annual meeting for the membership to review prior to the annual business meeting.

In an annual meeting of the Council of Division Chairs, the proposed resolutions were reviewed and some minor edits were made.

The revised resolutions were then reviewed and voted on at the annual business meeting of the SSSP, held on Saturday, August 12, 2017.  

Click here for the 2017 Approved Resolutions.

Click here for past years Approved Resolutions.

SSSP Letters

If a passed resolution requires letters or e-mails to be sent, the Administrative Office distributes these to appropriate individuals or agencies.

Click here to read the letters.

Take Action!

Letter to President Trump Opposing Family Separations, the Indefinite Detainment of Migrants, and the Criminalization of Refugees and Undocumented Immigrants

On behalf of SSSP’s Board of Directors, President Luis Fernandez, Vice-President David Embrick, and Executive Officer Héctor Delgado sent a letter to President Donald J.Trump to add their voices to those opposed to family separations, the indefinite detainment of migrants, and the criminalization of refugees and undocumented immigrants. This letter urges the Trump administration to take every step necessary to reunite children with their families, to ensure that children in custody receive the best care possible, to end the criminalization of refugees and undocumented immigrants, to ensure that individuals seeking asylum receive fair and impartial hearings, and to cease the xenophobic rhetoric that serves only to divide the country. To read the entire letter click here. 

Click here for more Action items...

Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award

The Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award was established in 1991 to recognize organizations that have a history of challenging social inequalities, promoting social change, and/or working toward the empowerment of marginalized peoples. Its work must demonstrate sensitivity to and respect for cultural diversity. Small, local agencies in the area of that year's SSSP annual meeting are given preference rather than large organizations or chapters of nationally-based organizations. Click here for a list of past winners.