Announcing the




2017 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists
(in alphabetical order of author's last name)

Amada Armenta, Protect, Serve, and Deport: The Rise of Policing as Immigration Enforcement, University of California Press


Claudia G. Cervantes-Soon, Juárez Girls Rising: Transformative Education in Times of Dystopia, University of Minnesota Press 



John M. Eason, Big House on the Prairie: Rise of the Rural Ghetto and Prison Proliferation, University of Chicago Press


Thomas M. Shapiro, Toxic Inequality: How America’s Wealth Gap Destroys Mobility, Deepens the Racial Divide, and Threatens Our Future, Basic Books  


Miranda R. Waggoner, The Zero Trimester: Pre-Pregnancy Care and the Politics of Reproductive Risk, University of California Press


The C. Wright Mills Award will be presented on
Saturday, August 11, at the Awards Ceremony in Philadelphia, PA.

C. Wrights Mills Award Commitee

George Lipsitz, Chair, University of California, Santa Barbara
Carla Shedd, Chair-Elect, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Rodney D. Coates, Miami University
Robert J. Duran, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Peter Ibarra, University of Illinois at Chicago
Phoebe Morgan, Northern Arizona University
Lois Presser, University of Tennessee, Knoxville