Announcing the 

 2021 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

(in alphabetical order by author's last name)

Bell, CharlesSuspended: Punishment, Violence, and the Failure of School Safety, Johns Hopkins University Press



Cashin, Sheryll, White Space, Black Hood: Opportunity Hoarding and Segregation in the Age of Inequality, Beacon Press

White Space


Ewoodzie Jr., Joseph C.Getting Something to Eat in Jackson: Race, Class, and Food in the American South, Princeton University Press 




Fernández, Jesica Siham, Growing Up Latinx: Coming of Age in a Time of Contested Citizenship, NYU Press 


Growing Up Latinx

Hamilton, Laura T. and Kelly Nielsen, Broke: The Racial Consequences of Underfunding Public Universities, University of Chicago Press



Hondagneu-Sotelo, Pierrette and Manuel Pastor, South Central Dreams: Finding Home and Building Community in South L.A., NYU Press


South Central Dreams

The C. Wright Mills Award will be presented on Saturday, August 6,
at the Awards Ceremony as a part of the SSSP Annual Meeting

C. Wrights Mills Award Commitee

Tsedale M. Melaku, Chair, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Georgiann Davis, Chair-Elect, University of New Mexico
Kathleen Asbury, Community College of Philadelphia
Angie Beeman, Marxe School of Public and International Affairs Baruch College

Luis Fernandez, Northern Arizona University
Candice C. Robinson, University of North Carolina Wilmington
Laurie Schaffner, University of Illinois at Chicago
Paul D. Steele, Native American Children's Alliance