Announcing the 

 2022 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

(in alphabetical order by author's last name)

Benjamin, RuhaViral Justice: How We Grow the World We Want, Princeton University Press


Virtual Justice

Lewis, Jovan ScottViolent Utopia: Dispossession and Black Restoration in Tulsa, Duke University Press

Violent Utopia

Pérez, RaúlThe Souls of White Jokes: How Racist Humor Fuels White Supremacy, Stanford University Press

Violent Utopia

Roberts, DorothyTorn Apart: How the Child Welfare System Destroys Black Families--and How Abolition Can Build a Safer World, Basic Books


Torn Apart

Walker, Michael L.: Indefinite: Doing Time in Jail, Oxford University Press



The C. Wright Mills Award will be presented on Saturday, August 19,
at the Awards Ceremony as a part of the SSSP Annual Meeting

C. Wrights Mills Award Commitee

Georgiann Davis, ChairUniversity of New Mexico
Waverly Duck, Chair-ElectUniversity of California, Santa Barbara
Charles Bell, Illinois State University
Emmie Cochran-Jackson, Middle Georgia State University

Kevin Escudero, Brown University
Amy Lubitow, Portland State University
Howard Lune, Hunter College, CUNY