Deadline: 1/31/24

The Society and Mental Health Division announces the 2024 Graduate Student Paper Competition. Papers should involve an empirical analysis, either qualitative or quantitative, dealing with any aspect of the sociology of mental health. To be eligible, a paper must have been written during 2023 or 2024, and it may not be published or accepted for publication. Papers that have been presented at a professional meeting, submitted for presentation at a professional conference, or are under review for publication are eligible. Papers must be student authored. They may be single authored by the student or co-authored by more than one student but may not be co-authored by a faculty member or other nonstudent. Papers must not exceed 30 pages including all notes, references, and tables. Please note that your paper may only be submitted to one division competition. To submit your paper for consideration, send two copies to: Madi Lowder ( 

Please include (1) a cover letter indicating that you are submitting your paper for the competition; and (2) a letter from your advisor that certifies your graduate-student status and offers some brief comments about your work. In addition, authors are required to submit their papers through the annual meeting Call for Papers online system. The winner will be announced at the 2024 Annual Meeting and will receive a $100 cash award, a plaque of recognition, conference registration, and student membership.