The C. Wright Mills Award was presented on Friday, August 17, 2012 at the SSSP Awards Banquet.

The 2011 C. Wright Mills winner is:


Shamus Rahman Khan

Privilege: The Making of an Adolescent Elite at St. Paul's School

Princeton University Press


Congratulations, Shamus!


Congratulations, also, to all of the 2011 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists


Julie Guthman, Weighing In: Obesity, Food Justice, and the Limits of Capitalism, University of California Press

Mignon Moore, Invisible Families: Gay Identities, Relationships, and Motherhood among Black Women, University of California Press

Shehzad Nadeem, Dead Ringers: How Outsourcing is Changing the Way Indians Understand Themselves,Princeton University Press 

Victor M. Rios, Punished: Policing the Lives of Black and Latino Boys, New York University Press

Steven J. Tepper, Not Here, Not Now, Not That! Protest Over Art and Culture, University of Chicago Press

Karolyn Tyson, Integration Interrupted: Tracking, Black Students, and Acting White after Brown, Oxford University Press




Karyn Lacy, Chair, University of Michigan

Raymond J. Michalowski, Chair-Elect, Northern Arizona University

Monica J. Casper, Arizona State University

John G. Dale, George Mason University

Lara J. Foley, University of Tulsa

Shirley A. Jackson, Southern Connecticut State University

Wilson R. Palacios, University of South Florida

Suzanne Staggenborg, University of Pittsburgh