The C. Wright Mills Award was presented on Saturday, August 10, 2013 at the SSSP Awards Ceremony.

The 2012 C. Wright Mills Winner is:


Cybelle Fox

Three Worlds of Relief: Race, Immigration, and the American Welfare State from the Progressive Era to the New Deal

Princeton University Press


Congratulations, Cybelle!


Congratulations, also, to all of the 2012 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

David Cunningham, Klansville, U.S.A.: The Rise and Fall of the Civil Rights-Era Ku Klux Klan, Oxford University Press

Matthew W. Hughey, White Bound: Nationalists, Antiracists, and the Shared Meanings of Race, Stanford University Press

Alondra Nelson, Body and Soul: The Black Panther Party and the Fight against Medical Discrimination, University of Minnesota Press

Susan Crawford Sullivan, Living Faith: Everyday Religion and Mothers in Poverty, University of Chicago Press



Raymond J. Michalowski, Chair, Northern Arizona University

A. Antonio González-Prendes, Chair-Elect, Wayne State University

Harry F. Dahms, University of Tennessee

Corey Dolgon, Stonehill College

Shannon M. Monnat, Pennsylvania State University

Gretchen Purser, Syracuse University

Victor Rios, University of California, Santa Barbara

Ronnie J. Steinberg, Vanderbilt University