The C. Wright Mills Award was presented on Saturday, August 22, 2015 at the SSSP Awards Ceremony.

The 2014 C. Wright Mills Winner is: 

Laurence Ralph

Renegade Dreams: Living Through Injury in Gangland Chicago

University of Chicago Press


Congratulations, Dr. Ralph! 

Congratulations, also, to all of the 2014 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

Leisy J. Abrego, Sacrificing Families: Navigating Laws, Labor, and Love Across Borders, Stanford University Press

Karl Alexander, Doris Entwisle, and Linda Olson, The Long Shadow: Family Background, Disadvantaged Urban Youth, and the Transition to Adulthood, Russell Sage Foundation

Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo, Paradise Transplanted: Migration and the Making of California Gardens, University of California Press

Janet K. Shim, Heart-Sick: The Politics of Risk, Inequality, and Heart Disease, New York University Press

David Dante Troutt, The Price of Paradise: The Costs of Inequality and a Vision for a More Equitable America, New York University Press


Shirley A. Jackson, Chair, Southern Connecticut State University

Victor Rios, Chair-Elect, University of California, Santa Barbara

Kum-Kum Bhavnani, University of California, Santa Barbara

Sandra Lee Browning, University of Cincinnati

Jeralynn S. Cossman, West Virginia University

Louis Esparza, California State University, Los Angeles