The C. Wright Mills Award was presented on Saturday, August 11, 2018 at the SSSP Awards Ceremony.

The 2017 C. Wright Mills Winner is:

Dr. Claudia G. Cervantes-Soon

Juárez Girls Rising: Transformative Education in Times of Dystopia

University of Minnesota Press

Congratulations, Dr. Cervantes-Soon! 

Congratulations, also, to all of the 2017 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

Amada ArmentaProtect, Serve, and Deport: The Rise of Policing as Immigration Enforcement, University of California Press

John M. Eason, Big House on the Prairie: Rise of the Rural Ghetto and Prison Proliferation, University of Chicago Press

Thomas M. ShapiroToxic Inequality: How America’s Wealth Gap Destroys Mobility, Deepens the Racial Divide, and Threatens Our Future, Basic Books 

Miranda R. WaggonerThe Zero Trimester: Pre-Pregnancy Care and the Politics of Reproductive Risk, University of California Press



George LipsitzChair, University of California, Santa Barbara
Carla Shedd, Chair-Elect, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Rodney D. Coates, Miami University
Robert J. DuranTexas A&M University
Peter Ibarra, University of Illinois at Chicago
Phoebe Morgan, Northern Arizona University
Lois Presser, University of Tennessee, Knoxville