The C. Wright Mills Award was presented at the 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting on Friday, August 7. 

The 2019 C. Wright Mills Award Winner is:

Dr. Adia Harvey Wingfield

Flatlining: Race, Work, and Health Care in the New Economy

University of California Press

Congratulations, Dr. Wingfield! 

Congratulations, also, to all of the 2019 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

Orly ClergeThe New Noir: Race, Identity, and Diaspora in Black Suburbia, University of California Press

Anthony Abraham Jack, The Privileged Poor: How Elite Colleges Are Failing Disadvantaged Students, Harvard University Press

Kari Marie NorgaardSalmon and Acorns Feed Our People: Colonialism, Nature, and Social Action, Rutgers University Press 

Keeanga-Yamahtta TaylorRace for Profit: How Banks and the Real Estate Industry Undermined Black Homeownership, University of North Carolina Press


Carla Shedd, Chair, The Graduate Center, CUNY 
Melissa F. Weiner, Chair-Elect, College of the Holy Cross
Andy Clarno, University of Illinois at Chicago
John M. Eason, University of Wisconsin
David G. Embrick, University of Connecticut
Kasey Henricks, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Cameron T. Whitley, Western Washington University