The C. Wright Mills Award was presented at the Awards Ceremony on Saturday, August 6.

The 2021 C. Wright Mills Award Winner is:

Dr. Joseph C. Ewoodzie, Jr.


Getting Something to Eat in Jackson:
Race, Class, and Food in the American South

Princeton University Press

Congratulations, Dr. Ewoodzie! 


Congratulations to all of the 2021 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists:

Bell, CharlesSuspended: Punishment, Violence, and the Failure of School Safety, Johns Hopkins University Press


Cashin, Sheryll, White Space, Black Hood: Opportunity Hoarding and Segregation in the Age of Inequality, Beacon Press

White Space

Fernández, Jesica SihamGrowing Up Latinx: Coming of Age in a Time of Contested Citizenship, NYU Press 


Growing Up Latinx

Hamilton, Laura T. and Kelly Nielsen, Broke: The Racial Consequences of Underfunding Public Universities, University of Chicago Press



Hondagneu-Sotelo, Pierrette and Manuel Pastor, South Central Dreams: Finding Home and Building Community in South L.A., NYU Press


South Central Dreams



Tsedale M. Melaku, Chair, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Georgiann DavisChair-Elect, University of New Mexico
Kathleen Asbury, Community College of Philadelphia
Angie Beeman, Marxe School of Public and International Affairs Baruch College

Luis Fernandez, Northern Arizona University
Candice C. Robinson, University of North Carolina Wilmington
Laurie Schaffner, University of Illinois at Chicago
Paul D. Steele, Native American Children's Alliance