The C. Wright Mills Award was presented at the SSSP Awards Banquet.

The 2009 C. Wright Mills Winner is:


Mario Luis Small

Unanticipated Gains: Origins of Network Inequality in Everyday Life

Oxford University Press


Congratulations, Mario!


Congratulations, also, to all of the 2009 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists


Jennifer Jihye Chun, Organizing at the Margins: The Symbolic Politics of Labor in South Korea and the United States, Cornell University Press.

Robert P. Fairbanks II, How It Works: Recovering Citizens in Post-Welfare Philadelphia, The University of Chicago Press.

Allison J. Pugh, Longing and Belonging: Parents, Children and Consumer Culture, University of California Press.

Raka Ray and Seemin Qayum, Cultures of Servitude: Modernity, Domesticity, and Class in India, Stanford University Press.

Leland T. Saito, The Politics of Exclusion: The Failure of Race-Neutral Policies In Urban America, Stanford University Press.

Mario Luis Small, Unanticipated Gains: Origins of Network Inequality in Everyday Life, Oxford University Press.  

Celeste Watkins-Hayes, The New Welfare Bureaucrats: Entanglements of Race, Class, and Policy Reform, University of Chicago Press.