The 2019 C. Wright Mills Award Committee selected Dr. Adia Harvey Wingfield's book, Flatlining: Race, Work, and Health Care in the New Economy, University of California Press, as this year's winner.

Dr. Carla Shedd, Chair of the 2019 C. Wright Mills Award Committee said of Dr. Wingfield’s work:

Flatlining by Dr. Adia Harvey Wingfield is an astutely intersectional analysis of the myriad ways inequality in organizations is produced and reproduced. When "equity work" is shouldered by those who are the most marginalized in the workplace, we have a sociological conundrum that should be at the center of contemporary research and policy agendas--especially now that COVID19 will exacerbate the trends documented in this timely and significant book.




Congratulations, Dr. Wingfield!

The 2019 award was presented at the 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting on Friday, August 7. Click here for a full listing of the 2019 finalists.

Click here for a list of past winners of the C. Wright Mills Award.