Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award

The deadline to submit nominations for the 2024 Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award was April 15, 2024. Check back this fall for the 2025 nomination procedures. See below for information on award eligibility and a list of past winners.


Established in 2016, the Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award is awarded annually to an outstanding faculty member or community activist. The award was established to recognize the value of quality mentoring relationships between mentor and mentee and/or mentoring programs especially those for undergraduate or graduate students and/or for social activists, particularly for younger scholars and activists. The award recipient will receive a plaque and three of the award recipient’s mentees will receive a one-year SSSP membership as well as annual meeting registration fees for the year the award is presented. Past winners of this award can be found here.


The goals of effective mentoring should include: fostering sensitivity and understanding of significant problems of social life; encouraging understandings of institutional inequalities and strategies for overcoming them; promoting problem-centered social research and/or social activism.

The nominee must have a history of:

  1. Creating and implementing innovative mentoring approaches;
  2. Creating and implementing innovative mentoring programs;
  3. Involving peers and mentees in publications, grants, and conferences, as well as readily sharing knowledge of such opportunities.

Only current members of SSSP can nominate someone who is or was a past member of SSSP. The nomination deadline for the 2024 award was April 15, 2024The 2024 award will be presented at the 74th Annual Meeting in Montréal, Canada, August 9-11, 2024.

Please address all questions to:

Dr. Christina Barmon, Chair
Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award Committee