Announcing the




2018 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists
(in alphabetical order by author's last name)

Abigail Leslie Andrews, Undocumented Politics: Place, Gender, and the Pathways of Mexican Migrants, University of California Press


Undocumented Politics

Margaret A. Hagerman, White Kids: Growing Up with Privilege in a Racially Divided America, New York University Press 


White Kids


Issa Kohler-Hausmann, Misdemeanorland: Criminal Courts and Social Control in an Age of Broken Windows Policing, Princeton University Press



Tey MeadowTrans Kids: Being Gendered in the Twenty-First Century, University of California Press  


Trans Kids

Ranita Ray, The Making of a Teenage Service Class: Poverty and Mobility in an American City, University of California Press


The Making of a Teenage Service Class

The C. Wright Mills Award will be presented on
Saturday, August 10, at the Awards Ceremony in New York City, NY.

C. Wrights Mills Award Commitee

Carla Shedd, Chair, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Sigal Alon, Tel-Aviv University
Joel Best, University of Delaware
Orly Clerge, University of California, Davis
Steven Epstein, Northwestern University
Charles A. Gallagher, La Salle University
Nancy A. Naples, University of Connecticut