The deadline for the Erwin O. Smigel Award for unemployed and underemployed sociologists to participate in the 2021 Virtual Annual Meeting was March 31, 2021.

The Erwin O. Smigel Award was established in 1975 to provide assistance to unemployed and underemployed sociologists. Applicants should be sociologists with an advanced degree who are not full-time students and who are not fully employed. Erwin O. Smigel was a professor and Chair of Sociology at New York University, and the author of The Wall Street Lawyer as well as other works. He was the second editor of Social Problems; serving from 1958-61. He was also a friendly and good-humored man who supported colleagues exceptionally well. The fund was established in Erwin’s honor the year he passed away.

Erwin O. Smigel Award Guidelines: 1) the Smigel Fund monies are to be used to pay for unemployed or severely underemployed sociologists’ (not full-time students) registration fees for the SSSP virtual annual meeting; 2) applicants must be SSSP members who are presenting a paper at the virtual meeting or participating as a SSSP elected or appointed officer or committee member.

Please address all questions to:
Dr. Silvia Dominguez, Chair
Erwin O. Smigel Award Committee

The extended deadline for the Transnational Initiatives Funds for Students and Scholars located in the Global South to participate in the 2021 Virtual Annual Meeting was May 20, 2021.

The Society for the Study of Social Problems established the Transnational Initiatives Fund to help provide students and scholars from the Global South, including students and scholars from politically, economically, and culturally oppressed groups in countries not considered part of the Global South, with support to subsidize both the registration fee and membership dues to participate in the SSSP virtual annual meeting. Upon determination of need and expenses, the funding will be distributed among all qualified applicants.

Please address all questions to:
Dr. Eberhard Raithelhuber and Dr. Alan Jay Spector, Co-Chairs
Transnational Initiatives Committee
E-mail: and