Announcing the 

 2023 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

(in alphabetical order by author's last name)

Andrews, Abigail LeslieBanished Men: How Migrants Endure the Violence of Deportation, University of California Press


Banished Men

Asad, Asad L., Engage and Evade: How Latino Immigrant Families Manage Surveillance in Everyday Life, Princeton University Press

Jensen, KatherineThe Color of Asylum: The Racial Politics of Safe Haven in Brazil, The University of Chicago Press

Miles, Corey J., Vibe: The Sound and Feeling of Black Life in the American South, University Press of Mississippi


Torn Apart

Rodriguez, CassaundraContested Americans: Mixed-Status Families in Anti-Immigrant Times, New York University Press 


Stewart, Mahala DyerThe Color of Homeschooling: How Inequality Shapes School Choice, New York University Press

Wallace, DerronThe Culture Trap: Ethnic Expectations and Unequal Schooling for Black Youth, Oxford University Press

The C. Wright Mills Award will be presented on Saturday, August 10,
at the Awards Ceremony as a part of the SSSP Annual Meeting

C. Wrights Mills Award Commitee

Waverly DuckChair, University of California, Santa Barbara
Teresa Córdova, Chair-Elect, Great Cities Institute, University of Illinois at Chicago
Matthew Clair, Stanford University
Chirstopher Contreras, University of Massachusetts, Boston
Joseph C. Ewoodzie, Davidson College
Tey Meadow, Columbia University
Miranda R. Waggoner, Rice University