The C. Wright Mills Award was presented on Saturday, August 12, 2017 at the SSSP Awards Ceremony.

The 2016 C. Wright Mills Winner is:

Dr. Roberto G. Gonzales

Lives in Limbo: Undocumented and Coming of Age in America

University of California Press

Congratulations, Dr. Gonzales! 

Congratulations, also, to all of the 2016 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

Matthew DesmondEvicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City, The Crown Publishing Group

Faranak MiraftabGlobal Heartland: Displaced Labor, Transnational Lives, and Local Placemaking, Indiana University Press

Nicole Gonzalez Van CleveCrook County: Racism and Injustice in America’s Largest Criminal Court, Stanford University Press 

Robert VargasWounded City: Violent Turf Wars in a Chicago Barrio, Oxford University Press



David G. EmbrickChair, University of Connecticut
George LipsitzChair-Elect, University of California, Santa Barbara
Robert Benford, University of South Florida
Kendal Broad,  University of Florida
Nancy DiTomaso, Rutgers University
Laurence Ralph, Harvard University
Hephzibah V. Strmic-Pawl, Manhattanville College