2010 Award & Scholarship Winners

Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship Winner(s)

The Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a new or continuing graduate student who began her or his study in a community college or technical school.

      Winner: Sarah Bruch, University of Wisconsin, Madison

      1st Honorable Mention: Emir Estrada-Loy, University of Southern California

      2nd Honorable Mention: Miho Iwata, University of Connecticut

C. Wright Mills Award Winner

The C. Wright Mills award is granted to one book annually that demonstrates dedication to a search for a sophisticated understanding of the individual and society.

2009 Winner (awarded in 2010):  Mario Luis Small, Unanticipated Gains: Origins of Network Inequality in Everyday Life, Oxford University Press

Oxford University Press: New Titles in Sociology and Social Problems

2009 Finalists

Past Winners

Joseph B. Gittler Award Winner

Established in 2007 at the bequest of Joseph B. Gittler, this award is made in recognition of the significant scholarly achievements that a SSSP member has made in contributing to the ethical resolution of social problems.

Winner: Ellen Pence, Praxis International

Past Winners

Lee Founders Award Winner

Established in 1981, this award is made in recognition of significant achievements that, over a distinguished career, have demonstrated continuing devotion to the ideals of the founders of the Society for the Study of Social Problems and especially to the humanist tradition of Alfred McClung Lee and Elizabeth Briant Lee.

Winner:  Thomas C. Hood, University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Past Winners

Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship Winner

The Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship was established at the 1993 Annual Meeting by The Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP). It is awarded to one recipient who demonstrates significant achievements of active engagement with social problems, participation in social problem solutions, and advancement of knowledge through study, service and critical analysis.

Winner: Yung-Yi Diana Pan, University of California, Irvine

Past Winners

Read Yung-Yi Diana Pan's Acceptance Speech
Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award Winner

The Social Action Award, established in 1991, is awarded to a not-for-profit organization in the city/area hosting the annual meeting demonstrating sensitivity to and respect for cultural diversity. In 2009, it was renamed to Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award to honor SSSP's Executive Officer from 1990-2009 who was instrumental in establishing the award.

Winner: Youth Speak Truth, Atlanta, GA

Past Winners

Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Award Winners

Congratulations to the student winners! The student paper competitions and outstanding scholarship awards are sponsored by the Special Problems Divisions

See the 2010 Winners...
Divisional Meetings – Door Prize Winner

In appreciation for attending one or more of our Divisional Meetings, members are invited to submit their door prize ticket to enter the pool from which one person will be selected to win a complimentary 2011 SSSP membership. Door prize tickets will be given during each divisional meeting. Members are responsible for filling out and placing their tickets in the door prize box, located by the exit door of each meeting room, for the final drawing.

Winner: Deborah Perkins, Coastal Carolina University