Latest SSSP News

Announcing the 2012 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

The 2012-13 C. Wright Mills Award Committee is pleased to announce the 5 finalists for the 2012 C. Wright Mills Award. The finalists are:

David Cunningham, Klansville, U.S.A.: The Rise and Fall of the Civil Rights-Era Ku Klux Klan, Oxford University Press

Cybelle Fox, Three Worlds of Relief: Race, Immigration, and the American Welfare State from the Progressive Era to the New Deal, Princeton University Press

Matthew W. Hughey, White Bound: Nationalists, Antiracists, and the Shared Meanings of Race, Stanford University Press

Alondra Nelson, Body and Soul: The Black Panther Party and the Fight against Medical Discrimination, University of Minnesota Press

Susan Crawford Sullivan, Living Faith: Everyday Religion and Mothers in Poverty, University of Chicago Press

The committee reviewed 67 nominated books to select the five finalists. The committee will select the final winner prior to the Annual Meeting and announce the winner at the awards ceremony in New York, NY. All finalists’ books will be recognized in the 2013 Annual Conference program and at the ceremony.

To an outstanding degree, each of the finalists met the criteria for the award:

  • Critically addresses an issue of contemporary public importance.
  • Brings to the topic a fresh, imaginative perspective.
  • Advances social scientific understanding of the topic.
  • Displays a theoretically informed view and empirical orientation.
  • Evinces quality in style of writing.
  • Explicitly or implicitly contains implications for courses of action.

Click here for the 2012 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists webpage.

Posted Friday, 05/10/2013, 12:59 PM - Comments - Category: Annual Meeting