Latest SSSP News

2019 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

The 2019 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists have been selected.

The committee reviewed 85 nominated books to select the five finalists. The winner will be announced at the Awards Recognition on Friday, August 7 during the SSSP ½-day Virtual Annual Meeting. All finalists will be recognized on the SSSP website and at the Awards Recognition.

To an outstanding degree, each of the finalists met the criteria for the award:

  • Critically addresses an issue of contemporary public importance
  • Brings to the topic a fresh, imaginative perspective
  • Advances social scientific understanding of the topic
  • Displays a theoretically informed view and empirical orientation
  • Evinces quality in style of writing
  • Explicitly or implicitly contains implications for courses of action

To view the list of finalists, visit:

Posted Thursday, 08/06/2020, 12:13 PM - Comments - Category: Annual Meeting