Latest SSSP News

2015 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

The 2015 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists have been selected.

The committee reviewed 94 nominated books to select the five finalists.  The committee will select the winner prior to the Annual Meeting and announce the winner at the Awards Ceremony in Seattle, WA.  All finalists’ books will be recognized in the 2016 Annual Conference program and at the ceremony.

To an outstanding degree, each of the finalists met the criteria for the award:

  • Critically addresses an issue of contemporary public importance.
  • Brings to the topic a fresh, imaginative perspective.
  • Advances social scientific understanding of the topic.
  • Displays a theoretically informed view and empirical orientation.
  • Evinces quality in style of writing.
  • Explicitly or implicitly contains implications for courses of action.

To view the list of finalists, visit:

Posted Thursday, 05/05/2016, 11:46 AM - Comments - Category: Awards