Latest SSSP News

2021 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

The 2021 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists have been selected. The committee reviewed 76 nominated books to select the six finalists. The winner will be announced at the Awards Ceremony on Saturday, August 6 from 5:45pm-7:00pm (Pacific Time). All finalists will be recognized at the Awards Ceremony.

To an outstanding degree, each of the finalists met the criteria for the award:

  • Critically addresses an issue of contemporary public importance
  • Brings to the topic a fresh, imaginative perspective
  • Advances social scientific understanding of the topic
  • Displays a theoretically informed view and empirical orientation
  • Evinces quality in style of writing
  • Explicitly or implicitly contains implications for courses of action

Click here to view the list of finalists.

Posted Thursday, 05/19/2022, 09:38 AM - Comments - Category: Awards