Announcing the




2016 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists
(in alphabetical order of author's last name)

Matthew Desmond, Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City, The Crown Publishing Group


No Way Out

Roberto G. Gonzales, Lives in Limbo: Undocumented and Coming of Age in America, University of California Press 


The Hero's Fight


Faranak Miraftab, Global Heartland: Displaced Labor, Transnational Lives, and Local Placemaking, Indiana University Press


addicted, pregnant, poor

Nicole Gonzalez Van CleveCrook County: Racism and Injustice in America’s Largest Criminal Court, Stanford University Press  


Discounted Life

Robert Vargas, Wounded City: Violent Turf Wars in a Chicago Barrio, Oxford University Press


Unequal City

The C. Wright Mills Award will be presented on
Saturday, August 12 at the Awards Ceremony.

C. Wrights Mills Award Commitee

David G. Embrick, Chair, University of Connecticut
George Lipsitz, Chair-Elect, University of California, Santa Barbara
Robert Benford, University of South Florida
Kendal Broad,  University of Florida
Nancy DiTomaso, Rutgers University
Laurence Ralph, Harvard University
Hephzibah V. Strmic-Pawl, Manhattanville College