All conference programming will take place in Eastern Time. 



Opening Plenary: Decolonizing Sociology: In Pursuit of Truth, Healing, Reparations and Restructuring
As scholars and movements pay increased attention to decolonizing universities in particular and knowledge production in general, we need a healthy and critical conversation about what decolonization actually means and what it might look like, specifically for the discipline of sociology and the work of sociologists. This plenary brings together sociologists from around the globe to think about and discuss the challenges and transformations that decolonization will bring to the tasks of not only interpreting the world, but changing it. The session presiders include: Rodney D. Coates, University of Miami and Raul Perez, University of La Verne. Featured panelists include: Gurminder K. Bhambra, University of Sussex; Biko Agozino, Virginia Tech; Ali Meghji, University of Cambridge; Mary Romero, Arizona State University; Julian Go, University of Chicago; José Itzigsohn, Brown University; and Raewyn Connell, University of Sydney.


Free Film Screenings
There will be a screening of three dynamic films followed by a Q&A discussion at this year’s virtual annual meeting. We hope your schedule permits you to attend.



SSSP Business Meeting
All members should attend the SSSP Business Meeting for an update on the status and future of SSSP. Summary reports on the Society and its key activities this year will be given. In addition, thirty minutes will be allocated to a discussion in favor of or in opposition to all proposed resolutions. The meeting concludes with the traditional transfer of the gavel, marking the transition of duties from President Corey Dolgon to incoming President Noreen M. Sugrue.


SSSP Awards Ceremony
All attendees are invited to this event.

Awards to be Presented 

SSSP Division Awards: Winners of the student paper competitions will be announced. 

Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award: For an author of the best paper on Women and Social Justice. 

Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship: This $18,000 scholarship will be awarded to an advanced sociology Ph.D. student who began their study in a community college or technical school. 

C. Wright Mills Award: For the most prestigious book written in the tradition of C. Wright Mills and his dedication to a search for a sophisticated understanding of the individual and society. 

Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award: For an outstanding faculty member who has exercised an extensive leadership role within the SSSP and other professional societies and within the larger community. 

Indigenous Peoples' Social Justice Award: For an organization (preferably Native American) doing social justice work on behalf of Native Americans in Chicago. 

Joseph B. Gittler Award: For significant scholarly achievement that a SSSP member has made in contributing to the ethical resolution of social problems. 

Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award: For an outstanding faculty member or community activist who recognizes the value of quality mentoring relationships between mentor and mentee and/or mentoring programs especially those for undergraduate or graduate students and/or for social activists, particularly for younger scholars and activists. 

Lee Founders Award: For recognition of significant lifetime achievements that have demonstrated continuing devotion to the ideals of the founders of the Society and especially to the humanistic tradition of the Lees. 

Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Fellowship: Two $15,000 fellowships will be awarded annually for support of graduate study and commitment to a career of scholar-activism. 

Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award: This award will be presented to a local grass-roots social justice organization in the Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (as defined by the U.S. Bureau of Census) in Chicago.


An Evening of Book Panels
We will present four themed book panels comprised mostly of authors whose books were finalists for the SSSP C. Wright Mills Book Award.



Happy Half Hour
Attendees are encouraged to grab a beverage and mingle with one another virtually before the Presidential Address.


SSSP Presidential Address
Plan to attend the Presidential Address featuring the formal address of President Corey Dolgon entitled "Dead Sociologists: Revolutionary Moments in a Non-Revolutionary Time."


After Talk Social Gathering
Please join your fellow attendees to socialize and connect with one another virtually. There will be several rooms open for attendees to congregate and socialize with one another. A few of the rooms will have a theme, but there will also be plenty of open meeting space for attendees to join with your fellow attendees. We hope members will take advantage of these virtual rooms to catch up with old friends and make new ones.



Poetic Justice: Poetry Slam & Open Mic Night
SSSP presents “Poetic Justice”, an open mic and final event to conclude the annual conference. The open mic will begin with a feature by Rachel Wiley, a renowned poet and performer whose work has appeared on Upworthy, The Huffington Post, The Militant Baker, and Everyday Feminism. She has also toured nationally to share her raw and inspiring words at many slam venues, colleges, and festivals. She is the author of two full length poetry collections Fat Girl Finishing School and Nothing is Okay. Following the feature, we will open the mic to members to share their own works, whether it be song, instrument, prose, or a painting. The vision for this year’s finale night is to utilize artistry to cultivate a safe, supportive, and healing space.