Deadline: 1/31/19

The Poverty, Class, and Inequality Division (PCI) of the Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP) announces its 2019 Student Paper Competition.  The PCI Division would like to reward graduate student work that addresses issues related to poverty, class, and inequality.  Papers should be unpublished, original empirical works of professional quality completed during students’ graduate or undergraduate studies. Papers must be student authored; they can be authored by one or more students, but may not be co-authored with faculty or non-students.  Papers should be no more than 30 pages in length, including notes, references, and tables.  Self-nominations are acceptable.  Students may submit to only one division.  The winner will receive a plaque of recognition, one-year membership to SSSP, a waived conference registration fee to attend the 2019 meeting in New York City, and an additional cash prize of $150.

Send blind papers, electronically, to the committee chair Dr. Noreen Sugrue at  .  Please specify that you are submitting a paper for the Poverty, Class, and Inequality Division Student Paper Competition and include a cover and nomination letter including the student’s contact information.  Please send Microsoft Word or PDF files only.  In addition, authors are required to submit their papers through the annual meeting Call for Papers online system.

Michael Harrington Award

Deadline: 4/1/19

The Poverty, Class, and Inequality Division (PCI) of the Society for the Study of Social Problems invites nominations for the 2019 Michael Harrington Award.  This award will be granted to an individual, organization, faculty, or student that by their actions advances our understanding of poverty, social class, and/or inequality, and/or proposes effective and practical ways to attend to the needs of the economically marginalized and reduce class inequalities. Self-nominations are acceptable. The award will be presented at the 2019 SSSP meetings in New York City.  The winner will receive a plaque at a special session honoring the work of Michael Harrington.  One-page nomination letters should be sent electronically to the committee chair Dr. Elizabeth Korver-Glenn at  . Supplemental materials may be requested