The C. Wright Mills Award was presented on Saturday, August 10, 2019 at the SSSP Awards Ceremony. 

The 2018 C. Wright Mills Award winner is:

Dr. Ranita Ray

The Making of a Teenage Service Class: Poverty and Mobility in an American City

University of California Press


Congratulations, Dr. Ray! 

Congratulations, also, to all of the 2018 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

Abigail Leslie AndrewsUndocumented Politics: Place, Gender, and the Pathways of Mexican Migrants, University of California Press

Margaret A. Hagerman, White Kids: Growing Up with Privilege in a Racially Divided America, New York University Press 

Issa Kohler-Hausmann, Misdemeanorland: Criminal Courts and Social Control in an Age of Broken Windows Policing, Princeton University Press

Tey MeadowTrans Kids: Being Gendered in the Twenty-First Century, University of California Press



Carla Shedd, Chair, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Sigal Alon, Tel-Aviv University
Joel Best, University of Delaware
Orly Clerge, University of California, Davis
Steven Epstein, Northwestern University
Charles A. Gallagher, La Salle University
Nancy A. Naples, University of Connecticut