Announcing the 

 2020 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

(in alphabetical order by author's last name)

Ben-Moshe, Liat, Decarcerating Disability: Deinstitutionalization and Prison Abolition, University of Minnesota Press


Undocumented Politics

Childers, Trenita Brookshire, In Someone Else's Country: Anti-Haitian Racism and Citizenship in the Dominican Republic, Rowman & Littlefield Publishers

White Kids


Clair, MatthewPrivilege and Punishment: How Race and Class Matter in Criminal Court, Princeton University Press 



Elcioglu, Emine FidanDivided by the Wall: Progressive and Conservative Immigration Politics at the U.S.-Mexico Border, University of California Press 


Trans Kids

Escudero, Kevin, Organizing While Undocumented: Immigrant Youth's Political Activism Under the Law, NYU Press


The Making of a Teenage Service Class

Lewis, Jovan Scott, Scammer's Yard: The Crime of Black Repair in Jamaica, University of Minnesota Press


The Making of a Teenage Service Class

Raudenbush, Danielle T., Health Care Off the Books: Poverty, Illness, and Strategies for Survival in Urban America, University of California Press


The Making of a Teenage Service Class

The C. Wright Mills Award will be presented on Thursday, August 5,
at the Awards Ceremony as a part of the 2021 SSSP Virtual Annual Meeting

C. Wrights Mills Award Commitee

Melissa F. Weiner, Chair, College of the Holy Cross
Tsedale M. Melaku, Chair-Elect, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Maryann Erigha, University of Georgia
Myra Marx Ferree, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Daina Cheyenne Harvey, College of the Holy Cross
Jerome Krase, Brooklyn College, CUNY
Amaka Camille Okechukwu, George Mason University
Ranita Ray, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Mary Scherer, Sam Houston State University