Social Entrepreneurship Paper Award

The extended deadline to submit nominations for the 2023 SSSP Best Student Paper Award in Social Entrepreneurship and Innovation was May 20, 2023. Check back this fall for the 2024 nomination procedures


The award winner will receive $1,500, one complimentary student membership to the SSSP, one complimentary registration to the SSSP Annual Meeting, and a plaque. The winner will be recognized at the SSSP Awards Ceremony. Acceptance of the award comes with the expectation to present the winning paper at the current or following year’s SSSP Annual Meeting.

  • Paper centers social entrepreneurship and innovation, makes a significant contribution to the existing literature, and has relevance to practice.
  • To be eligible for this award, authors must be a current undergraduate or graduate student (enrolled in a degree granting institution) at the time of submission.
  • The paper must be unpublished at the time of submission.
  • One entry per author is permitted. Jointly authored papers are eligible. All communication and award details will be directed to the corresponding author.

Papers must be authored by current students and may not be co-authored by a faculty member or other nonstudent. The student may not submit the same paper to more than one SSSP paper award. To be considered, please complete the online nomination form. You will be required to submit (a) a copy of the manuscript, (b) a cover letter specifying that the paper is to be considered for the Student Social Entrepreneurship Paper Award, and (c) a letter from each author’s advisor certifying the person’s status as a student and some brief comments about the research. Papers must not exceed 40 doubled-spaced pages including all notes, references, and tables. Please address all questions to the Committee Chair, Ebonie Cunningham Stringer ( with the subject line: “STUDENT Social Entrepreneurship and Innovation Paper Award.”


The extended nomination deadline for the 2023 award was May 20, 2023The 2023 award will be presented at the 73rd Annual Meeting, August 18-20, 2023.

Please address all questions to:

Dr. Ebonie Cunningham Stringer, Chair
Ad Hoc Kauffman Paper Award Committee