2011 Award & Scholarship Winners

Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship Winners

The Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a new or continuing graduate student who began her or his study in a community college or technical school.

      Winner: Elizabeth Mignacca, Syracuse University

      Honorable Mention: Rose Buckelew, Duke University

Past Winners

C. Wright Mills Award Winner

The C. Wright Mills award is granted to one book annually that demonstrates dedication to a search for a sophisticated understanding of the individual and society.

2010 Winner (awarded in 2011): Mark Hunter, Love in the Time of AIDS: Inequality, Gender, and Rights in South Africa, Indiana University Press

2010 Finalists

Past Winners

Joseph B. Gittler Award Winner

Established in 2007 at the bequest of Joseph B. Gittler, this award is made in recognition of the significant scholarly achievements that a SSSP member has made in contributing to the ethical resolution of social problems.

Winner: Frances Fox Piven, Graduate Center, City University of New York

Past Winners

Lee Founders Award Winner

Established in 1981, this award is made in recognition of significant achievements that, over a distinguished career, have demonstrated continuing devotion to the ideals of the founders of the Society for the Study of Social Problems and especially to the humanist tradition of Alfred McClung Lee and Elizabeth Briant Lee.

Winner: Claire Renzetti, University of Kentucky

Past Winners

Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship Winners

The Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship was established at the 1993 Annual Meeting by The Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP). It is awarded to one recipient who demonstrates significant achievements of active engagement with social problems, participation in social problem solutions, and advancement of knowledge through study, service and critical analysis.

Winners: Ryan Alaniz, University of Minnesota

       Sarah Ann Mayorga, Duke University

Past Winners

Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award Winner

The Social Action Award, established in 1991, is awarded to a not-for-profit organization in the city/area hosting the annual meeting demonstrating sensitivity to and respect for cultural diversity. In 2009, it was renamed to Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award to honor SSSP's Executive Officer from 1990-2009 who was instrumental in establishing the award.

Winner: Sex Workers' Outreach Project (SWOP), Las Vegas

Past Winners

Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Award Winners

Congratulations to the student winners! The student paper competitions and outstanding scholarship awards are sponsored by the Divisions

Click here for the 2011 Award Winning Paper Abstracts.

See the 2011 Winners...