2012 Award & Scholarship Winners

Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship Winner

The Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a new or continuing graduate student who began her or his study in a community college or technical school.

      Winner: Autumn R. Greene, Boston College

      Honorable Mention: Laura Logan, Kansas State University

Past Winners

C. Wright Mills Award Winner

The C. Wright Mills award is granted to one book annually that demonstrates dedication to a search for a sophisticated understanding of the individual and society.

2011 Winner (awarded in 2012): Shamus Rahman Khan, Privilege: The Making of an Adolescent Elite at St. Paul's School, Princeton University Press

2011 Finalists

Past Winners

Joseph B. Gittler Award Winner

Established in 2007 at the bequest of Joseph B. Gittler, this award is made in recognition of the significant scholarly achievements that a SSSP member has made in contributing to the ethical resolution of social problems.

Winner: Nancy A. Wonders, Northern Arizona University

Past Winners

Lee Founders Award Winner

Established in 1981, this award is made in recognition of significant achievements that, over a distinguished career, have demonstrated continuing devotion to the ideals of the founders of the Society for the Study of Social Problems and especially to the humanist tradition of Alfred McClung Lee and Elizabeth Briant Lee.

Winner: Evelyn Nakano Glenn, University of California, Berkeley

Past Winners

Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship Winner

The Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship was established at the 1993 Annual Meeting by The Society for the Study of Social Problems (SSSP). It is awarded to one recipient who demonstrates significant achievements of active engagement with social problems, participation in social problem solutions, and advancement of knowledge through study, service and critical analysis.

Winner: Orly Clergé, Brown University

Honorable Mentions: Monica Lomeli, University of California, Santa Barbara and Chandra D.L. Waring, University of Connecticut

Past Winners

Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award Winner

The Social Action Award, established in 1991, is awarded to a not-for-profit organization in the city/area hosting the annual meeting demonstrating sensitivity to and respect for cultural diversity. In 2009, it was renamed to Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award to honor SSSP's Executive Officer from 1990-2009 who was instrumental in establishing the award.

Winner: Colorado Progressive Coalition, Denver, CO

Past Winners

Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Award Winners

Congratulations to the student winners! The student paper competitions and outstanding scholarship awards are sponsored by the Divisions

Click here to view the 2012 Award Winning Paper Abstracts.

See the 2012 Winners...