The C. Wright Mills Award was presented on Saturday, August 20, 2016 at the SSSP Awards Ceremony.

The 2015 C. Wright Mills winner is:

Dr. Carla Shedd

Unequal City: Race, Schools, and Perceptions of Injustice

Russell Sage Foundation

Congratulations, Dr. Shedd! 

Congratulations, also, to all of the 2015 C. Wright Mills Award Finalists

Waverly Duck, No Way Out: Precarious Living in the Shadow of Poverty and Drug Dealing, University of Chicago Press

Patricia Fernández-Kelly, The Hero’s Fight: African Americans in West Baltimore and the Shadow of the State, Princeton University Press

Kelly Ray Knight, addicted. pregnant. poor, Duke University Press

Sharmila Rudrappa, Discounted Life: The Price of Global Surrogacy in India, NYU Press



Victor Rios, Chair, University of California, Santa Barbara
David G. Embrick, Chair-Elect, University of Connecticut
Leon Anderson, Utah State University
Rodney D. Coates, Miami University of Ohio
Reza Hasmath, University of Alberta
Marina Karides, University of Hawai'i at Hilo
Rhacel Parrenas, University of Southern California