Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award Winner

Established in 2016, this award is made in recognition of a paper that addresses contemporary issues of women’s justice locally, nationally, and globally; brings a fresh perspective to women’s inclusion in global society and advances new theoretical directions discussing women and social justice; and is theoretically informed and possesses an empirical orientation.

Laura Jean Kerr
  Joss T. Greene
Rashon I Lane
  Dr. Ranita Ray

Winner: Joss T. Greene, Columbia University
Honorable Mention: Dr. Ranita Ray, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Past Winners








Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship Winner

The Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a new or continuing graduate student who began her or his study in a community college or technical school.

Laura Jean Kerr
  Brandi Perri
Rashon I Lane
  Sandra Portocarrero

Winner: Brandi Perri, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Honorable Mention: Sandra Portocarrero, Columbia University
Past Winners







C. Wright Mills Award Winner

Established in 1964, this award is granted to a distinguished book that exemplifies outstanding social science research and an understanding of the individual and society in the tradition of C. Wright Mills.

2019 Winner (awarded in 2020): Dr. Adia Harvey Wingfield, Flatlining: Race, Work, and Health Care in the New Economy, University of California Press
2019 Finalists
Past Winners








Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award Winner

Established in 2016, this award is for an outstanding faculty member who has exercised an extensive leadership role within the SSSP and other professional societies and within the larger community.

Valerie Jenness

Winner: Dr. William D. Cabin, Temple University
Past Winners










Indigenous People's Social Justice Award

Established in 2020, this award is to an organization (preferably a Native American organization) doing social justice work on behalf of Native Americans in the city or metropolitan area hosting the annual meeting.

Valerie Jenness

Winner: Sogorea Te Land Trust










Joseph B. Gittler Award Winner

Established in 2007 at the bequest of Joseph B. Gittler, this award is made in recognition of the significant scholarly achievements that a SSSP member has made in contributing to the ethical resolution of social problems.

Corey Dolgon

Winner: Dr. Anthony A. Peguero, Virginia Tech
Past Winners









Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award Winner

Established in 2017, this award is given to an outstanding faculty member or community activist who recognizes the value of quality mentoring relationships between mentor and mentee and/or mentoring programs especially those for undergraduate or graduate students and/or for social activists, particularly for younger scholars and activists. 

Barbara Katz Rothman

Winner: Dr. Wendy Simonds, Georgia State University
Past Winners









Lee Founders Award Winner

Established in 1981, this award is made in recognition of significant achievements that, over a distinguished career, have demonstrated continuing devotion to the ideals of the founders of the Society for the Study of Social Problems and especially to the humanist tradition of Alfred McClung Lee and Elizabeth Briant Lee.

Dr. Joachim Savelsberg

Winner: Dr. Woody Doane, University of Hartford
Past Winners








Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Fellowship Winner

Established in 1995, this award is given to two recipients who demonstrate significant achievements of active engagement with social problems, participation in social problem solutions, and advancement of knowledge through study, service and critical analysis.

Laura Jean Kerr
  Sadé Lindsay
Rashon I Lane
  Karina Santellano

Winners: Sadé Lindsay, The Ohio State University and Karina Santellano, University of Southern California
Past Winners








Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award Winner

Established in 1991, this award is presented to a local grassroots social justice organization in the city/area hosting the annual meeting demonstrating sensitivity to and respect for cultural diversity.

Nobody Leaves Mid-Hudson

Winner: Coalition on Homelessness
Past Winners


Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Award Winners

Congratulations to the student winners! The Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Awards are sponsored by the Divisions

Click here for a list of the 2020 Student Paper Competition and Outstanding Scholarship Award winners.

Abstracts for the 2020 Student Paper Competition winners and honorable mentions are available here.