Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award Winner

Established in 2016, this award is made in recognition of a paper that addresses contemporary issues of women’s justice locally, nationally, and globally; brings a fresh perspective to women’s inclusion in global society and advances new theoretical directions discussing women and social justice; and is theoretically informed and possesses an empirical orientation.

Winner: Barbara Wejnert, University at Buffalo, SUNY

Past Winners





Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship Winner

The Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a new or continuing graduate student who began her or his study in a community college or technical school.



Winner: Anastacia M. Schulhoff, University of Missouri

Honorable Mention: Ashleigh McKinzie, University of Georgia

Past Winners




C. Wright Mills Award Winner

Established in 1964, this award is granted to a distinguished book that exemplifies outstanding social science research and an understanding of the individual and society in the tradition of C. Wright Mills.



2015 Winner (awarded in 2016): Carla Shedd, Unequal City: Race, Schools, and Perceptions of Injustice, Russell Sage Foundation 

2015 Finalists

Past Winners



Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award Winner

Established in 2016, this award is for an outstanding faculty member who has exercised an extensive leadership role within the SSSP and other professional societies and within the larger community.

Winner: Shirley A. Jackson, Portland State University

Past Winners





Joseph B. Gittler Award Winner

Established in 2007 at the bequest of Joseph B. Gittler, this award is made in recognition of the significant scholarly achievements that a SSSP member has made in contributing to the ethical resolution of social problems.

Winner: Bruce Arrigo, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Past Winners





Lee Founders Award Winner

Established in 1981, this award is made in recognition of significant achievements that, over a distinguished career, have demonstrated continuing devotion to the ideals of the founders of the Society for the Study of Social Problems and especially to the humanist tradition of Alfred McClung Lee and Elizabeth Briant Lee.

Winner: Pamela Ann Roby, University of California, Santa Cruz

Past Winners





Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Scholarship Winners

Established in 1995, this award is given to two recipients who demonstrate significant achievements of active engagement with social problems, participation in social problem solutions, and advancement of knowledge through study, service and critical analysis.






Winner: Janet Garcia-Hallett, Rutgers University

Winner: Cassaundra Rodriguez, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Honorable Mention: Celeste Vaughan Curington,University of Massachusetts Amherst

Honorable Mention: Robert L. Reece, Duke University

Honorable Mention: Aisha Ariantique Upton, University of Minnesota

Past Winners




Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award Winner

Established in 1991, this award is presented to a not-for-profit organization in the city/area hosting the annual meeting demonstrating sensitivity to and respect for cultural diversity.

Winner: Got Green?, Seattle, WA

Past Winners


Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Award Winners

Congratulations to the student winners! The Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Awards are sponsored by the Divisions

Click here for a list of the 2016 Student Paper Competition and Outstanding Scholarship award winners.

Abstracts for the 2016 Student Paper Competition winners and honorable mentions are available here.