Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award

Established in 2015, this award is made in recognition of a paper that addresses contemporary issues of women’s justice locally, nationally, and globally; brings a fresh perspective to women’s inclusion in global society and advances new theoretical directions discussing women and social justice; and is theoretically informed and possesses an empirical orientation.

 Dr. C. Shawn McGuffey

 Dr. Poulami Roychowdhury

Dr. C. Shawn McGuffey, Boston College

Honorable Mention: 
Dr. Poulami Roychowdhury, McGill University

Past Winners





Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship 

The Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship is awarded to an advanced sociology Ph.D. student who began their study in a community college or technical school.

 Florence Emilia Castillo

Cierra Sorin

Florence Emilia Castillo, University of New Mexico

Honorable Mention: 
Cierra Sorin, University of California, Santa Barbara

Past Winners




C. Wright Mills Award

Established in 1964, this award is granted to a to the author of what the committee considers to be the most outstanding book written in the tradition of C. Wright Mills and his dedication to a search for a sophisticated understanding of the individual and society. 

2021 Winner (awarded in 2022):
Dr. Joseph C. Ewoodzie Jr.
, Getting Something to Eat in Jackson: Race, Class, and Food in the American South 
Princeton University Press

2021 Finalists

Past Winners





Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award

Established in 2015, this award is awarded annually is to an outstanding faculty member who has exercised an extensive leadership role within the SSSP and other professional societies and within the larger community.

Dr. Wendy Simonds, Georgia State University

Past Winners






Indigenous Peoples' Social Justice Award

Established in 2020, this award is to an organization (preferably a Native American organization) doing social justice work on behalf of Native Americans in the city or metropolitan area hosting the annual meeting.

American Indian Studies Department (AIS) at California State University, Long Beach

Past Winners




Joseph B. Gittler Award

Established in 2007 at the bequest of Joseph B. Gittler, this award is made in recognition of the significant scholarly achievements that a SSSP member has made in contributing to the ethical resolution of social problems.

Dr. Rodney D. Coates, Miami University of Ohio

Past Winners







Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award

Established in 2016, this award is given to an outstanding faculty member or community activist who recognizes the value of quality mentoring relationships between mentor and mentee and/or mentoring programs especially those for undergraduate or graduate students and/or for social activists, particularly for younger scholars and activists. 

Dr. David G. Embrick, University of Connecticut

Past Winners







Kauffman Foundation Paper Awards 

Thanks to sponsorship from the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation, the Society is pleased to announce two annual awards for promising research centering social entrepreneurship and innovation.

Dr. Michael C. Dreiling Dr. Yvonne A. Braun Demetrius Murphy

Michael C. Dreiling, Univeristy of Oregon; Tomoyasu Nakamura, Senshu University; and Yvonne A. Braun, University of Oregon 

Student Winner:
Demetrius Murphy
, University of Southern California 

Past Winners



Lee Founders Award

Established in 1981, this award is made in recognition of significant lifetime achievements demonstrating a devotion to the ideals of the founders of the Society and especially to the humanist tradition of Alfred McClung Lee and Elizabeth Briant Lee.

Dr. Corey Dolgon
, Stonehill College

Past Winners








Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Fellowship

Established in 1995, this award is given to two recipients who demonstrate significant achievements of active engagement with social problems, participation in social problem solutions, and advancement of knowledge through study, service and critical analysis.

 Katherine Maldonado Korey Tillman

Katherine Maldonado
, University of California, Santa Barbara

Korey Tillman, The University of New Mexico 

Past Winners




Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award

Established in 1991, this award is presented to a local grassroots social justice organization in the Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area (as defined by the U.S. Bureau of Census) in which the annual meeting is held that year.


Downtown Crenshaw

Past Winners


Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Award Winners

Congratulations to the winners! The Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Awards are sponsored by the Divisions

Click here for a list of the 2022 Student Paper Competition and Outstanding Scholarship Award winners.

Abstracts for the 2022 Student Paper Competition winners and honorable mentions are available here.