Arlene Kaplan Daniels Paper Award Winner

Established in 2016, this award is made in recognition of a paper that addresses contemporary issues of women’s justice locally, nationally, and globally; brings a fresh perspective to women’s inclusion in global society and advances new theoretical directions discussing women and social justice; and is theoretically informed and possesses an empirical orientation.


Winner: Dr. Susila Gurusami, University of Toronto
Past Winners








Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship Winner

The Beth B. Hess Memorial Scholarship is awarded to a new or continuing graduate student who began her or his study in a community college or technical school.

Laura Jean Kerr
 Laura Jean Kerr
Rashon I Lane
 Rashon I. Lane

Winner: Laura Jean Kerr, Mississippi State University

Honorable Mention: Rashon I. Lane, University of California, San Francisco
Past Winners







C. Wright Mills Award Winner

Established in 1964, this award is granted to a distinguished book that exemplifies outstanding social science research and an understanding of the individual and society in the tradition of C. Wright Mills.

The making of a teenage working class
Ranita Ray

2018 Winner (awarded in 2019): Dr. Ranita Ray, The Making of a Teenage Service Class: Poverty and Mobility in an American City, University of California Press
2018 Finalists
Past Winners







Doris Wilkinson Faculty Leadership Award Winner

Established in 2016, this award is for an outstanding faculty member who has exercised an extensive leadership role within the SSSP and other professional societies and within the larger community.

Valerie Jenness

Winner: Dr. Valerie Jenness, University of California, Irvine
Past Winners










Joseph B. Gittler Award Winner

Established in 2007 at the bequest of Joseph B. Gittler, this award is made in recognition of the significant scholarly achievements that a SSSP member has made in contributing to the ethical resolution of social problems.

Corey Dolgon

Winner: Dr. Corey Dolgon, Stonehill College
Past Winners









Kathleen S. Lowney Mentoring Award Winner

Established in 2017, this award is given to an outstanding faculty member or community activist who recognizes the value of quality mentoring relationships between mentor and mentee and/or mentoring programs especially those for undergraduate or graduate students and/or for social activists, particularly for younger scholars and activists. 

Barbara Katz Rothman

Winner: Dr. Barbara Katz Rothman, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Past Winners









Lee Founders Award Winner

Established in 1981, this award is made in recognition of significant achievements that, over a distinguished career, have demonstrated continuing devotion to the ideals of the founders of the Society for the Study of Social Problems and especially to the humanist tradition of Alfred McClung Lee and Elizabeth Briant Lee.

Dr. Joachim Savelsberg

Winner: Dr. Joachim Savelsberg, University of Minnesota
Past Winners









Racial/Ethnic Minority Graduate Fellowship Winners

Established in 1995, this award is given to two recipients who demonstrate significant achievements of active engagement with social problems, participation in social problem solutions, and advancement of knowledge through study, service and critical analysis.

Stephanie A Pullés   Stephanie A. Pullés Thelma I. Velez   Thelma I. Velez

Winner: Stephanie A. Pullés, University of
California, Irvine (Sociology)

Winner: Thelma I. Velez, Ohio State University (Environmental Science)
Past Winners




Thomas C. Hood Social Action Award Winner

Established in 1991, this award is presented to a not-for-profit organization in the city/area hosting the annual meeting demonstrating sensitivity to and respect for cultural diversity.

Nobody Leaves Mid-Hudson

Winner: Jonathan BixNobody Leaves Mid-Hudson
Past Winners


Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Award Winners

Congratulations to the student winners! The Student Paper Competitions and Outstanding Scholarship Awards are sponsored by the Divisions

Click here for a list of the 2019 Student Paper Competition and Outstanding Scholarship award winners.

Abstracts for the 2019 Student Paper Competition winners and honorable mentions are available here.